Tutor Spotlight

Tutor Spotlight: Ashley Vatzlavick

My name is Ashley Vatzlavick, originally from Cypress, Texas and currently a Senior at Texas Tech.  I love my degree plan, which is a Major in Human Development and Family Studies and a Minor in Human Resources. Traveling eight hours to come to Texas Tech was the greatest decision I’ve ever made. Being a student as Texas Tech has taught me to follow my dreams, never stop remembering where I came from; to never lose integrity and strive for honor. My dream has always been to change the world, or at least make something in this world a little better.

I have been a tutor at the TECHniques Center since the Fall of 2012. Since then, I have challenged myself in ways I never would have anywhere else. I have met and worked with wonderful counselors, tutors and students who are always putting a smile on my face. The atmosphere of the TECHniques Center is the most supportive and motivating work environment I have ever experienced. We are not only tutors, but mentors to our students. We foster students, who have struggled with their learning disability, encourage themto focus on the future, instill confidence and remind them that nothing can get in their way.

After graduation, I plan to continue my education in graduate school majoring in Special Education and Learning Disabilities. Working at the TECHniques Center has helped me figure out what I want to accomplish as a career and has also helped me partially complete that dream of mine.

One thought on “Tutor Spotlight: Ashley Vatzlavick

Leave a Reply

