Tutor Spotlight

Tutor Spotlight: Claire Burrus

My name is Claire Burrus. In 2000, my family moved to France. We moved back to Lubock, TX in 2007. I graduated from Lubbock High School in 2010 and started at Texas Tech that fall. I am now a senior Biology major. Texas Tech has been a perfect fit for me, and it has allowed me to pursue my dreams of becoming a doctor. I was accepted to the TTUHSC School of Medicine through the TTU/TTUHSC Honors Early Acceptance Program in February, and I will start medical school next fall.

I have been a tutor at the TECHniques Center since fall of 2012, and I have loved every second of it. I have learned so much more than I ever thought possible from how to deal with conflict in a more constructive manner to how to better manage my time. The relationship that forms from working with students multiple hours every week over a semester is what makes everything worth it. Tutoring at the TECHniques Center isn’t just about helping your students make the grade. It’s more about helping them develop their entire person so that when they graduate they are prepared to face anything that comes their way. The staff at the TECHniques Center is also one of the reasons that working here is so great. They are incredibly supportive and helpful, and they aren’t afraid to have fun. They model how to enjoy what you do and encourage us to do the same. The TECHniques Center is a wonderful and unique place to work.

Leave a Reply

