Tutor Spotlight

Tutor Spotlight: Rachel Traxler

My name is Rachel Traxler and I am in my first year of Grad School at Texas Tech studying Applied Linguistics, Communication Studies, and Deaf Education.  I received my bachelors in History and Anthropology with a minor in American Sign Language.  I will be graduating with a certificate to teach English in International Contexts.  I had the opportunity to study at Gallaudet University in Washington, D.C. this past summer.  This immersion program reaffirmed my love for ASL and solidified my long-term career goal of teaching ASL at the collegiate level.  What a rewarding and challenging experience!

I have worked at the Techniques Center for 3 semesters and have been a Master Tutor since the Fall of 2013.  The attitudes of those at the TC are truly contagious.  My favorite tutoring moment is not one specific to academic achievement (though those moments are definitely memorable!)  One of my students came into his session wearing these really awesome shoes…I commented on his style, and the room quickly jumped on board and affirmed his fashion choice.  While we throw dance parties and jump up and down for academic progress, these little moments are just as important and make what I do so enjoyable.

The staff at the TC truly cares about students and tutors with an intensity that has not been paralleled in any other environment I have experienced.  With a little organization and self-determination, students and tutors with the Techniques Center cannot help but be successful.

Leave a Reply

