Thoughts from Counselors

Thankful

The British writer, Gilbert K. Chesterton, wrote, “I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.”

Here at the TECHniques Center, we are thankful for so much:  our students, our tutors, our staff, the ability to work at such a great university, and the fact that we get to do so much good through our program. To continue in that spirit, we thought we’d share with you what our tutors wrote they are most thankful for:

“I am thankful for the working environment at the TECHniques Center. If I am having a bad day, it is easy to forget about it while I am tutoring, which has a lot to say about the amazing people I work with.”  –  Stephanie Casey

“Thank you for the TECHniques Center’s members’ smiles and enthusiasm, friendliness and hospitality, great team, and extraordinary personalities.” – Mikhail Rybalko

“I’m thankful that the TECHniques Center is such a professional and fun place to work!” – Rebecca Oldham

“I’m thankful for having people who welcome me home during the holidays.” – Nick Robertson

“I’m so thankful I get to go to a school like Texas Tech! I can’t imagine spending my college years anywhere else. I’m thankful for all the opportunities I’ve found in Lubbock, especially a great job at The TECHniques Center. This has been a really fun first semester at TECHniques working with my students, and I can’t wait to see what happens next semester!” – Sarah Nobles

“I am thankful for having the chance to chase my dreams and see them become reality.  I am also thankful for each new day we are given the chance to learn, experience, and see God’s amazing creation.” – Mario Morees, new tutor starting with us this spring

“I’ve just realized recently how much of our day-to-day conversation consists of complaining. We joke about how long the day has been or how much is going on in life, but rarely do we express thankfulness. I want to learn to have eyes that see the countless blessings, instead of a heart that counts the few inconveniences. I am specifically thankful that I get to work with awesome people who remind me to be thankful every day!” – Rachel Onishi

“I am thankful for my friends who help me get through the rough times! Especially finals week!” – Caroline McClary

“I am most appreciative for the presence of my family and friends.  I often find myself in a whirlwind of (often self-imposed) busyness.  I am surrounded by people who live purposefully, encourage me to slow down, and allow me to live-out life in their company.   I am grateful for the intentionality of these interactions.  This Thanksgiving season I am most thankful for the people in my life who, both literally and metaphorically, make me take time to stop and smell the roses.” – Rachel Traxler

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

