Tutor Spotlight

Tutor Spotlight: Daniel Johnson

My name is Daniel Johnson, and I will be graduating with my Masters of Science in Accounting from the RAWLS College of Business in May 2014! I am currently in the process of applying to seat for the 4-part Certified Public Accountant exam, I plan to start once I graduate. I was first introduced to the TECHniques Center (TC) while on a college visit prior to applying to Texas Tech University (TTU). The services and the people in this department are exceptional and they were a big part of what influenced me to apply and eventually attend TTU. Originally, I was a student utilizing the services offered, such as being tutored and counseled from August 2009 through May 2011. I am not sure where I would be without the TECHniques Center’s counselors and tutors who were always there for me when times were especially rough during my freshmen year. When I no longer found the TC services applicable to my personal and educational needs, I was hired to be a TC tutor. I have worked for the TC since August of 2011 and enjoy the fact that I have the ability to help others like me by positively impacting their lives and improving the students’ self-confidence. I try/seek to lead my students by example, displaying patience and sharing my experiences. I also assist them by teaching and/or reinforcing concepts they have learned in the classroom but don’t totally comprehend. I strive to be an exceptional leader and role model each day. In this capacity, I am able to share my experiences and mentor other tutors, thus continuing to impact other’s lives and further endorse the TECHniques Center’s vision.

“My disability has opened my eyes to see my true abilities.” Robert M. Hensel

Leave a Reply

