Thoughts from Tutors · Uncategorized

Exams, Goal Setting, and the Semester so far!

By Michael Debnam
Master Tutor

Its mid-February, and by this point your first wave of exams are probably going on or starting soon. The first wave of exams is always tough as it is your first taste of how a professor asks questions. Yet it also provides an opportunity for insight into what information your professor values, and this insight should help you prepare in a more efficient manner for upcoming exams. As the first wave of exams come to a close, I find it useful to evaluate my semester up to that point. Are my results from my first exams in line with my goals for the semester? If not, then what can I change/improve to ensure that I reach my goals? Some key areas to reconsider are: how often am I looking over my notes? Am I staying on top of my readings for class? Have I started studying for exams early enough? Am I balancing my social life, academic life, and health in accordance to my goals?

If there is a problem in one of these areas previously mentioned, then how does one fix it? One possible solution is setting a schedule. For example, set aside thirty minutes each day for each class you take, and use this time to review your notes and mark any areas you need to work on. For students at the TECHniques, looking over your notes daily, and marking areas you are struggling with, will make your tutoring sessions much more effective; as you and your tutor can focus on those areas you are struggling with. This semester I began using a planner to make sure that I am actually setting aside sufficient time to study, workout, grocery shop, etc. I also keep a running to-do list in my planner, which helps me keep up with all of my responsibilities/obligations and assignments.

Lastly, up to this point I have been implying that we all have set goals and are working towards them; but this is not always the case. But it is never too late to set goals! They can be big, such as achieving a certain GPA this semester. Or small, such as looking over class notes outside of class this week!

“It is not enough to take steps which may some day lead to a goal; each step must be itself a goal and a step likewise.” –Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Leave a Reply

