Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight: Rachel Onishi

My name is Rachel Onishi. I am a senior Human Sciences major, with a minor in Psychology. I will be graduating in May 2015 and intend to pursue a master’s degree in counseling, through a seminary program. I have been a tutor at the TECHniques Center for two semesters and this is my first semester as a master tutor.

I was born in Blacksburg, VA, but spent most of my life in Maracaibo, Venezuela. I speak Spanish fluently and I love to dance Salsa and Merengue. Growing up in a different culture had a significant influence on my personality and my perspective of the world. I am passionate about cultures and understanding people. I truly enjoy my job because I get to invest in people’s lives on a daily basis. I am often floored by the change I am privileged to witness in the lives of my students.

Through my experience at the TECHniques Center, I have learned that oftentimes, we, as humans, just need someone else to believe in us and challenge us to step outside of our comfort zone. My favorite part of being a tutor is building bonds of trust and encouragement with my students and watching them flourish. One of the happiest moments from my time in college was a phone call from one of my students telling me that, for the first time in her life, she achieved a 4.0 GPA! I was so proud of her, as well as humbled that I had the honor of being a small part of such an incredible change in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

