Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight: Julie Szamatulski

My name is Julie Szamatulski. I am a senior Restaurant, Hotel and Institutional Management major graduating this December. After my graduation, I am planning on working for a company doing event management in Dallas or the North East part of the United States.

I am originally from Connecticut, but I have spent most of my life in Texas. I have three siblings, with a 21 year old age gap between the oldest and the youngest. I also have two nephews who I spoil as much as possible. I am also President of the Student Event Planner’s Association on campus and a four year member of the Texas Tech Twirlers who are currently celebrating back to back National Championships.

I have been a tutor at the TECHniques Center since the fall of 2013. This will be my first and last semester as a Master Tutor. I have absolutely loved being a part of the TC mainly because of the atmosphere that we have here. The counselors, tutors, and students make it easy to get up in the morning and go tutor. The other reason why I love working at the TC so much is because of the students that I work with. My favorite moment as a tutor so far has been last spring when my student was making Cs and low Bs on their tests in a class that they had been working really hard in. Towards the end of the semester, my student comes in to our session and just hands me the scantron that has a nearly perfect grade on it. I feel blessed to get to be a part of my students’ lives and see the growth they make not only academically, but also as a person as well. The TECHniques Center is such a big part of my life now and I know that the friendships I have made here with my fellow Red Raiders will continue long after my graduation.

Leave a Reply

