Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight: Stephanie Casey

My name is Stephanie Casey. I will graduate in May 2015 with a degree from the University Honors College in Honors Arts and Letters with a minor in Chemistry and Psychology. I will be applying to medical schools after I graduate and will spend my gap year working in Arizona at the Translational Genomics Research Institute. This is my third semester at the TECHniques Center and I am so excited to spend my last semester at Tech as a master tutor.

I was born in northern California and have since lived in Arizona, Utah, and Texas. Moving more frequently than most has molded my personality and the way I think about the future. I have tendencies somewhere in between an introvert and an extrovert so putting myself out there isn’t always the easiest thing. Moving has allowed me to meet some amazing people that have impacted my life in ways I sometimes don’t even realize. I am open to change and am excited by the possibilities. New situations can be scary things but I would encourage anyone to occasionally change their environment. Even if it is not something as extreme as uprooting your life, travel or any other temporary change of scenery can be a great way to push yourself out of your comfort zone. Altering my own environment has pushed me to reflect on who I am as a person and what areas of my life I feel could use improvement. Habit can be a great thing, good eating habits, habitual exercise, etc but habit can also cause people to become stagnant and forget how much of an impact they can have on the world. I would like to encourage everyone to “cultivate your garden” however big or small your realm of influence.

Working as a tutor has opened my eyes to the varying needs of students. The TC is the only program of its kind in Texas because it caters to individual student needs based on course load, learning style, and even personality. Tutors and counselors are there for their students when they need help with course content, organization, or interpersonal skills. The staff at the TC is unparalleled in their commitment to student success. Not only do they care about the lives of their students but also the advancement and success of their tutors. The positive atmosphere at the TC is contagious and I am happy to call myself part of the TC team!

Leave a Reply

