Thoughts from Counselors

New Counselor Spotlight: Rachel Traxler

My name is Rachel Traxler and I am the newest Counselor at the TECHniques Center. I am so excited to serve the students at the TC and to have the opportunity to work with such hardworking tutors and staff!


Education

I received my Bachelors from Texas Tech in History and Anthropology with a minor in American Sign Language. I am currently finishing up my Interdisciplinary Studies degree from Texas Tech with a certificate in Teaching English in International Contexts. My research interests include second language acquisition and language learning, nonverbal behavior, and disability identity.

 

Top 5 Strengths from Strengths Quest

Restorative, Input, Adaptability, Connectedness, Futuristic

 

Favorite Resource at Tech

Tech provides so many wonderful services and resources. Some of my favorites include the Rec, the Counseling Center, the Learning Center, and the University Studies Advising. In particular, I had an amazing experience working previously with the University Studies staff. Jenny and Sarah are wonderful advisors who truly go above and beyond for their students. When I was a Graduate Assistant with that office, I had several students brag to me about these advisors and how they were able to succeed as a result of their help- so cool! They truly epitomize the quality of service Texas Tech strives to offer.

 

What part of this position are you most looking forward to?

The culture at the TECHniques Center is unlike any I’ve encountered- I am most looking forward to working in an environment that welcomes inquisitiveness and facilitates progress.

 

What is your favorite subject to talk about?

FOOD. I love to cook and am always looking up new recipes and healthy ingredient substitutions. Academically speaking, I love American Sign Language, Deaf culture, and anything related to language learning and acquisition! (Do you wonder why you “never learned anything” in high school Spanish? Ask me!)

 

Other interests/specialties/skills/talents?

I am a bando at heart. I was a member of the Goin’ Band from Raiderland and count the memories associated with this organization as some of my most treasured. If you ever see me at a football game…I’m probably there for the band (sorry Kliff!)

TC pic2

Leave a Reply

