Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight: Jared Olafsson

Hi everyone, I’m Jared Olafsson. I’m a senior Geosciences major from the small town of Houston, Texas. I will be graduating from Texas Tech in May and will begin my graduate career in the Department of Geosciences at Texas Tech shortly thereafter. After graduating with a Masters of Science, I hope to enter the oil and gas industry as a petroleum geologist or geophysicist where I will access various fields for the production of oil. This is my fifth semester at the TECHniques Center, and my first as a Master Tutor.

My interests include watching sports (go Texans), playing video games, collecting rocks, hiking, and keeping up with the (kardashians) latest technology. I have a very unhealthy addiction to Sour Patch Kids and late night television. There is hardly ever a night I go without watching Jimmy Fallon and a bag of the sugary goodness. I also really enjoy drinking coffee and discovering new coffee shops when I travel and, of course, trying the local cuisine. Though my Lubbock repertoire of restaurants is still growing, I really enjoy the appetizers and deserts at the Funky Door, and the delicious pizza at West Crust.

Working at the TECHniques Center has helped me grow enormously as a communicator and collaborator; I have learned invaluable skills during my time here that I will never forget. I have had the privilege to work with the greatest team of staff and students who work tirelessly to make the TECHniques Center the premier tutoring center for students with disabilities in the nation. Though my time at the TC is coming to a close, I have no doubt that the program will continue its groundbreaking success. It’s a great time to be a Red Raider at the TECHniques Center!

Leave a Reply

