Thoughts from Counselors

Staff Spotlight Series: Brandi Willis Schreiber, Program Director

“There is no value in life
except what you choose to place upon it
and no happiness in any place
except what you bring to it yourself.”
– Henri David Thoreau

Those who know me know my appreciation for bits of wisdom – like Thoreau’s – which give me something upon which to contemplate and model my life. My calendar, office walls, journal, and Instagram account are full of quotes that inspire me, confound me, make me laugh, or in the very least, make me pause and ask myself how my life reflects that wisdom.

I believe that Thoreau got it right: there is no value or happiness in any thing except that which we bring ourselves. I think this is a very true statement for the work that we do every day in the TECHniques Center, but that isn’t the whole story.

All of us who work at the TECHniques Center are more than just the jobs that we fulfill, so we wanted to give you a chance to learn more about the special individuals who staff this place. Over the next few weeks, we’ll be spotlighting our full time staff and Master Tutors on this blog so that you can get to know us, what we do, and who we are a little better.

My name is Brandi Willis Schreiber, and I am the Program Director for the TECHniques Center. My professional work history is deeply rooted in this program, which is entering its 17th year at Texas Tech University. I didn’t know about the TECHniques Center until I applied to be a tutor after reading about it on a flyer in an academic classroom. That was in 2002. Since then, I have worked at the TECHniques Center as an Academic Counselor, Unit Coordinator, Assistant Director, and starting this summer, Program Director. I am extremely proud of this program and humbled to step into this new role.

My day to day responsibilities include managing the center; providing academic counseling to my students; hiring, training, and supervising staff and tutors; and a dozen other things that come up daily in this ever-changing, dynamic place! Here are a few other things that you might not know about me:

  1. What is your favorite family vacation memory?

My favorite family vacation memory is the day I saw the ocean for the first time. I was 8. I will never forget the feeling of seeing where three worlds met: sky, water, sand. I have a photo of standing on the beach that day with my dad with the wind whipping back my hair. Someone photographed me mid-wave, with my dad crouched down, holding onto me like I might tip over. I value it more than anything else I own.

  1. If you could share a meal with any 4 individuals, living or dead, who would they be?

I think some great dinner conversation could happen between Georgia O’Keeffe (my favorite artist), Chris Isaak (my favorite musician), and Nora Roberts (one of my favorite authors). I couldn’t have a dinner like this without my husband, David!

  1. What is one of your biggest dreams?

I love to travel, and my wish book is full of places that I would love to visit or revisit someday: Spain, Scotland, Ireland, India, Greece, and the little village in Germany where my husband’s family is from. To travel and write about these places would be a dream in itself!

  1. What are some of your greatest accomplishments?

Graduating from Texas Tech University with my B.A. and M.A. in English; seeing my writing in print; sharing my life with my wonderful husband; traveling; my daily work; and all the other things I have yet to do.

2 thoughts on “Staff Spotlight Series: Brandi Willis Schreiber, Program Director

  1. Another of your greatest accomplishments – the love you have for people and animals. You don’t make a big deal of it – it’s just who you are.

  2. Whoops – bad grammar. I should have said MORE of your …. But while I’m here, I’ll point out that you are a talented painter, also.

Leave a Reply

