Uncategorized

Staff Spotlight Series: Kyla Shannon, Assistant Director

A little about me…

I really don’t know where to start on things like this so I am just going to dive right in! My name is Kyla Shannon and I am the Assistant Director for the TECHniques Center. I am going on my fourth year of being at Texas Tech. I started as an academic counselor in 2012, moved into the roll of Unit Coordinator in the summer of 2013, spent a semester as a Unit Coordinator in the main Disability Office and recently accepted the job as Assistant Director of the TECHniques Center.

Before coming to Tech I was an elementary special education teacher for 7 years with Lubbock ISD. I loved working with my students and probably learned more from my littles than they learned from me. I often referred to it as a time of organized chaos but my classroom ran like a well-oiled machine. There was even some time for Justin Beiber dance parties every now and then. The most important thing that my kiddos taught me, besides my killer dance moves, is that I was created to work with and teach students.

My day to day of the TECHniques Center is similar to the organized chaos that I mentioned before. I work with a caseload of students each week; hire, train, and supervise our peer tutors, am the liaison between Project CASE (a grant through the Burkhart Center of Autism Education and Research), and whatever else pops up that needs to be done.

I am a die-hard Red Raider fan!! I earned both of my degrees from Texas Tech and as soon as I saw a job opening on campus that fit me I jumped at the chance. I am also a die-hard Texas Tech football fan. I have only missed 2 home games in the last 15 years…Part of my track record is due to the fact that I was a part of the Goin’ Band from Raider Land! Wreck Em’!!!

What else about me….

I recently adopted a dog from our local SPCA…this has been a growing process for both of us. She is an English Mastiff who is horribly terrified of everything. I am not exaggerating when I say everything. The first week I had her there was a battle of who would stay…her or the coffee pot. Luckily, my sweet Olive (that is her name), learned to live with the coffee pot and could stay. We are slowly working through her fears but there is a new one everyday!

I love chips and queso!! If I could have it for every meal I would. I would also need to work out for 2 hours in between each meal so I try to limit my queso intake.

My older brother was born with Down Syndrome and is quite possibly my most favorite person on the planet.

Coffee!!! That’s all that needs to be said…I need it!

I love to travel and go places every chance I get. This year I have traveled to Chicago Illinois, Boston Massachusetts, Saratoga California, and Denver Colorado! I am excited to see where I get to go next. My ultimate bucket list adventure is Greece!

Those are just a few random facts about me! I am happy to tell you more so just stop on by my office for a visit! I am excited for this new semester and the changes that are happening around the TECHniques Center!

Leave a Reply

