Thoughts from Counselors

Staff Spotlight Series: Laura Casanova, Academic Counselor

I am honored to have been a part of the TECHniques Center for the past two years. I joined the team in July of 2013 after completing my Masters of Education in Special Education with a focus in learning disabilities and behavior disorders from the University of Texas. Prior to attending UT, I went to the University of Arizona and studied Psychology with a minor in Special Education and Rehabilitation. This job has afforded me the opportunity to perfectly combine my passion for psychology and special education in a unique setting. It has been a dream come true!

In addition to working with students and tutors, I am a member of the Fundraising Team. I have loved learning more about development through fostering relationships, recognizing and appreciating our donors. It has been incredible to see the impact of these gifts on our center, students, tutors and scholarship recipients. We are beyond grateful for the generous support we receive!

What is your favorite thing about your career?
I cherish building strong connections, offering positive and consistent support, and watching students flourish in all domains of life. This position is so much more than just a job for me. I feel so blessed to work with such an inspiring group of students, tutors and staff.

What is your favorite game or sport to watch and play?
I love to play boardgames of any kind! Ticket to Ride, Phase 10 and Sequence are my most recent favorites. And of course, during basketball season, you can find me cheering on my Arizona Wildcats. March Madness is always an exciting time around the TECHniques Center! Unfortunately, the past few years my bracket busted and my heart broke with the turnout. BEAR DOWN!

What is your favorite hobby?
I really enjoy baking! I am a firm believer that the key to a delicious cookie recipe is brown sugar and there is no better way to show you care than with a homemade sweet treat!

Leave a Reply

