Uncategorized

Staff Spotlight Series: Michael Abbott, Academic Counselor

Snapshot of Michael Abbott

I started at the TECHniques Center as an Academic Counselor in the summer of 2014.  I graduated from The Ohio State University with his B.A. in Sociology. I also graduated from Texas Tech with an M.A. in Psychology and an M.S. in Personal Financial Planning. I studied abroad in Dresden, Germany for a semester. I served in the United States Army for 6 years. I taught English in South Korea as an ESL teacher. I served a mission for my church (LDS) in Utah. I am married to Dawn Abbott and we had our first child, Anastasia, in September 2014.

Random Information

Who is your hero? My favorite superhero is batman. Who wouldn’t want to be the world’s greatest detective while also being insanely wealthy? Fighting crime is a fun secondary attribute as well. My favorite hero… that is tough to say, a number of people come to mind for different reasons. Jerry Rice was my favorite football player. I thought he had great talent and great work ethic. David Robinson was my favorite basketball player. He was a gently giant. He was a physical specimen but very humble and a religious man. He founded an elementary school in San Antonio. That man truly cares about his community (also served in the military- Navy).

Have you ever had a nickname? I had the nickname “the legend”, but that really only took with a small group of people. I think I was given it because of my knowledge/fanaticism of the movie Rocky, as well as being a little older than the others in the group and my knowledge of some “cult-classic” movies, such as Army of Darkness. It beats other nicknames that are out there.

If you could go back in time, what year would you travel to? This is a tough question. I was always a fan of the Back to the Future movies, so 1885 and 1955 jump out in my mind, but that is really only due to the movie and the hopes of seeing Marty McFly on the streets of Hill Valley. I would probably lean toward more historic events or times, such as the Apollo landing on the moon in 1969, Medieval times, or during the ministry of Jesus Christ.

What is your favorite sport to watch or play? I love to watch and play both basketball and football. I still follow the San Antonio Spurs in Basketball and am a die-hard Ohio State football fan since that is my alma mater. Watching their National Championship run in 2014-2015 was a roller coaster ride with a storybook ending. I also am a big fan of Texas Tech football and hoping that we see much success in the future.

Leave a Reply

