Uncategorized

Staff Spotlight Series: Rachel Traxler, Academic Counselor

My name is Rachel Traxler and I am an Academic Counselor at the TECHniques Center.  I have lived and learned in Lubbock over the last 6 years, with 3 of those years spent with the TC. I have worked as a tutor and master tutor, and was privileged to join the Counselor Team last February.

In addition to working with students and tutors, I am passionate about staying up-to-date with current research findings and present literature on higher education and disability.  Kyla and I are presently brainstorming about how we can contribute to this body of research- we’ll keep you updated!

What are your hobbies?

My weekends are often spent looking up and trying out different recipes.  I enjoy making the dining process a sensory experience.  With an aspiring Sommelier at home, I often plan meals based on the anticipated flavor notes of a bottle of wine.  I most enjoy serving tapas, Moroccan meatballs, or a slow-cooked Cassoulet.

IMG_6691

I am an aspiring greyhound adopter…Check out this video for some joy 🙂  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-feD8YMUIM)

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?

I love everything green- moss, trees, grass, house plants, all of it!  I think I could live just about anywhere with greenery, but am most smitten with Whatcom County, Washington.

What is something we don’t know about you?

You may already know this about me if you’ve ever asked, “have you seen this [movie]??”  I am reeeeeeeeeeeeeeally behind on watching movies.  I attribute this to the fact that I have always been a bookworm and am a serial multi-tasker.  I spent most of my childhood writing book reports (for fun…) or making clothes for my dolls.  So chances are, I haven’t seen that very popular and influential movie from the 90’s.  I appreciate a good documentary or psychological thriller, but do not often venture from these genres.

movie

What accomplishments are you most proud of?

I received my Bachelors degree from TTU and am in the process of finishing my Masters.  In reference to my education, I am most proud of learning adaptability and resiliency; both required to complete any degree.  I have been fortunate enough to present at several conferences during my time at TTU, and will venture to Atlanta in late October for the Second Language Research Forum.  I will get to hear several influential researchers present at this conference!  (Is it appropriate to ask for their autograph??)

I recently achieved one of my life goals- I am anticipating my first publication, out in late 2016.

IMG_6807

Leave a Reply

