Uncategorized

Master Tutor Spotlight: Chaise Jung

Hello! My name is Chaise Jung, and I am a master tutor at the TECHniques Center. When I first started working here, I never imagined that I would be in the position I am now. Like most things in my life, my journey here started on a bizarre note. The TECHniques Center actually contacted me when I was in the middle of a desert in Jordan! Why was I stuck in a desert in the Middle East? When I am not running around here, I am a Senior Undergraduate student in Anthropology. I specifically focus my interests in the sociocultural subfield, meaning that I am interested in the study of culture and social structure of a community or society. I have also completed an ethnographic field study in coastal Ecuador. In short, I find humans interesting. I plan to continue my education until I can introduce myself as Dr. Jung.

I hope to one day dedicate my life to understanding different worldviews. I am a research nerd by heart, but nothing beats talking, living, and getting to know people with different perceptions than my own. With that said, lets move on to random questions!

Are you a clean or messy person?

My life is an organized mess of chaos. I don’t own a lot of things, because I tend to live fairly nomadically (school is the only thing that keeps me solidly here in Lubbock). I think that if I did stay in one place and started accumulating things…yeah I would probably be ridiculously messy.

Is your glass half full or half empty?

I love this question because it is one of the many moments that my Anthropology education ruins it. I always counter this question by asking, why can’t it be both? My glass is half full but still half empty! I mean how else will there be room to add more? People are always building on themselves, and I would like to think that it is a never-ending process of learning and filling that empty space. What happens when you fulfill your expectations and goals (aka: your glass)…get a bigger glass and start over!

What kitchen appliance do you use every day?

My coffee machine! If you ever see me walking around without some kind of caffeinated beverage…take a picture. It is pretty much the equivalent of seeing Big Foot. I completely disagree that my body runs on water…my life only runs functionally with caffeine. My coffee machine is a beautiful beacon of hope and joy in my life.

What’s the most daring thing you’ve ever done?

As the theme goes, my most daring moments are usually CJ2complete accidents. I think the most daring thing that I have ever done actually was between me and a chicken in Ecuador…ask me for the story sometime because I am not sure PETA would approve. My more acceptable daring move happened in my time in Jordan. On the last day of our time there, we went on a hike to an Oasis deep in the mountains. We had a Bedouin, local pastoralist group, as a guide. At one point of our hike, we had to scale the side of two mountains without any equipment. The Bedouin guide attempted to steady us, but there was still an inconceivable amount of risk. I might add that I did all of this while I had a brace on my ankle because of an unfortunate fall out of a moving vehicle a couple weeks before. I even lost my footing at one point, but caught myself before falling. I was told not to go by my supervisor, but I was determined to do it. I think my stubbornness of not letting my supervisor be right was the prime reason I caught myself. After we got to the Oasis, we jumped into the water from a rock cliff. You can enjoy a picture of me drinking herbal tea after all that on the right!

With all of that said, I never realized how much I could love a job before I started at the TECHniques Center. No matter how hectic my life gets, my students and the staff here make every day worthwhile. The job allows me to learn from so many different kinds of people every day that I wouldn’t have access to otherwise. My only advice to anyone is to never put yourself in a situation where you don’t love what you do. If the only thing you get out of a job is a paycheck, you’re in the wrong job. I operate on three principles; learn always, live for every moment, and love everything you do. I truly believe that it is never impossible to find the positives in life, but a lot of times you have to actively seek it.

Leave a Reply

