Uncategorized

Staff Spotlight Series: Taylor Fortney, Academic Counselor

My name is Taylor Fortney, and I am the newest academic counselor here at the Techniques Center! I have been a tutor here for over 2 years, then a Master Tutor the past semester and a half, and I am so excited to take on this new adventure.

This semester has been crazy, and full of amazing changes, none more so than October 17th, 2015. On this day, I got to marry my best friend, Nicole. The day was absolutely amazing, and we both could not have been happier spending the day together, and with our family and friends. I am definitely the luckiest guy in the world!

IMG_2530Baseball has ruled the majority of my life (I’m not complaining!), and I first went to Bethany College in West Virginia to pursue my playing career as a shortstop and pitcher. However, after a shoulder injury and resulting surgery made it more difficult to continue, I came back to Texas to attend Texas Tech. Here I finished my undergraduate degree last December, with a Bachelor’s Degree in Exercise and Sport Science, and I am currently working on my Master’s in Kinesiology. My passion is coaching baseball, and this past summer I was able to coach my boys at Westchase Express (a collegiate development summer program) to the Stan Musial World Series Championship!

Random Questions

What is your favorite hobby?

I am passionate about the sport of archery! I can spend hours upon hours either working on my bow, or just shooting. The quest for the bulls-eye starts fresh every shot!

What is your favorite book?

I have tons, but if I had to pick, my two favorites are To Kill a Mockingbird and ANY of the Sherlock Holmes books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. These classics always grabbed me, and I love the characters in each, as well as the lessons behind the stories.

What is your favorite food?

Chicken Fried Steak! I could happily eat chicken fried steak every meal, and never get tired of it. I also always have a Dr. Pepper on hand!

Leave a Reply

