Uncategorized

Master Tutor Spotlight: Becca Scott

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

– Anonymous

This is one of my favorite quotes. Ever. I strongly, strongly believe that everyone has their own talents, even if they are not immediately obvious. Today’s society seems to have very specific ideas of value, and many people’s greatest, most helpful talents don’t fit into that mold. I spend a lot of time trying to discover the strengths in the people around me; you never know what they have to bring to the table.

My love of figuring out other people has really come in handy with this job. All of my students have had very different strengths and weaknesses, and it is a delightful challenge to figure out how to help each one. Some of my closest friends and family have learning disabilities, so this job is very close to my heart.

If I could share only one thing with every student, it would be the true value of hard work. It doesn’t matter how many I.Q. points you have or how many school supplies you buy. If you don’t work hard and use your resources, they are useless. I’ve been amazed by the results of my student’s hard work and determination. Use your talents to their fullest, and you will blossom.

Well, a little about me. I’m a Biochem major, and I’m on a mission to brainwash everyone into thinking that chemistry is fun. I live on a farm in upstate New York, but I was born in Texas. You could say that coming to Tech has helped me get back to my “Southern roots”. I have a passion for the outdoors! I go on a kayaking-camping trip on a secluded Adirondack lake every summer with my best friend. I recently traveled a little further, across the pond, to France. I studied abroad in Paris this summer, and it was probably the highlight of my life. I now preach the gospel of study abroad wherever I go.

Thank you for listening to what I have to say! If you see me around, please say hi—I love to meet new people!

Guns up,

Becca

Leave a Reply

