Staff Spotlight · Thoughts from Counselors

Staff Spotlight Series: Katie Ericson, Academic Counselor

“When people go to work, they shouldn’t have to leave their hearts at home” –Betty Bender

Hi! My name is Katie Ericson, and I am a new Senior Academic Counselor here at the TECHniques Center! I am so excited to get started this semester, and eager to get to know everyone.

I am most recently coming from Academic Advising with the Pre-Professional Health Careers office at Texas Tech. Prior to working in advising I was a Residence Life Coordinator in Wall/Gates with University Student Housing here at Tech. Being able to have positions in different areas around campus has allowed me to learn about the extensive amount of resources Texas Tech has, and has taught me what it means to be a Red Raider.

I grew up in Salt Lake City, Utah where I attended the University of Utah, and earned Bachelor of Science degrees in Sociology as well as Mass Communication. I then moved to Muncie, Indiana and earned my Masters in Student Affairs Administration in Higher Education. I never thought I would live in Texas, but here I am! And I totally love it!

Some of my favorite things to do in this area are to explore the city, hike Palo Duro, and eat lots of chips and queso! I also love to work out, which is mandatory when it comes to my love for queso. I’m so lucky to do these things with my wonderful fiancé Tim by my side along with some pretty awesome friends here! I also love watching college football, college basketball, and college gymnastics any chance I can get!

I will also take any and all chances I get to travel, whether that’s in Texas or across the country. This past year I was lucky enough to go to Utah multiple times, New Mexico, Illinois, Ohio, Indiana and Kentucky. I would love to visit so many more places in the world such as England, Ireland, Greece, Nepal, and Peru, just to name a few.

I’m so excited to get 2016 started and get to know more students and staff at the TECHniques Center! I have enjoyed my short time here so much already, and cannot wait to see what adventures this year brings! Feel free to stop by my office and say hi!

 

Leave a Reply

