Thoughts from Tutors

Master Tutor Spotlight: Victoria Andrews

By: Victoria Andrews

Hi everyone!

I am Victoria Andrews and this is my third semester as a Master Tutor with the TECHniques Center! I started with the TC as a tutor in the Fall of 2013 and I have been here ever since! Being a part of the TECHniques Center team is something that I am so thankful for. Every day is a new adventure and I enjoy every aspect of the job. I have met some of my closest friends (shout out to previous MTs Jared and Brieann) and have had the opportunity to be mentored by some amazing counselors.

Currently, I am finishing up my last semester at Texas Tech. In May, I will graduate with a Bachelor’s of Science in Animal Science with an emphasis in pre- veterinary medicine. I also will have a minor in Agricultural Leadership and Chemistry. After graduation, I will be headed off to vet school somewhere! I have an offer from Kansas State’s vet school, but I am still waiting to hear back from Texas A&M and Oklahoma State.

Beyond working and classes, I am involved in several organizations on campus. I am currently the Vice President of Women’s Service Organization, a service organization that volunteers around the Tech campus and the Lubbock community, and the Historian for Mortar Board, an organization representing the top 50 seniors at Texas Tech. If I wasn’t busy enough already, I am also planning a wedding! In July, I will be getting married to fellow Master Tutor, Zachary Grimsley! Between work, classes, extracurricular activities, and wedding planning, I don’t get much free time, but what I do get I use to play with my dog, Ellie, bake, craft or spend time with my fiancé and friends.

Although I am excited to graduate in May and see what else this wonderful world has to offer me, I am sad to be leaving the TECHniques Center. A vast majority of my undergraduate career has been spent at the TC, so I will miss working with my students and seeing them succeed, talking with the counselors, and laughing alongside the other MTs and tutors!

Leave a Reply

