Thoughts from Tutors

Leadership Lessons

By Dhweep Patel, Master Tutor

“Leaders become great, not because of their power, but because of their ability to empower others.” – John Maxwell.

Throughout my undergraduate career at Texas Tech, I always tried to take up leadership roles. I was the president of an Honors society, worked as a Master tutor, was a vocal leader in group projects, and also took upper-level classes. These experiences taught me a lot about leadership that I could not learn just from talking to people. I love the opportunity to share with you a few of those today! Hopefully you will learn something new, and it won’t be a typical cliché blog on leadership.


  • The most important thing I learned as a leader is that taking on leadership and responsibility does not make me a superior person. Instead, I need to be more humble, more driven, work more, and sacrifice more. Being a leader means to help the people get to where they want to be, and they come before you.
  • Another thing that I learned as a leader is that before you act on any situation and conflict, think about putting yourself in other’s shoes. It’s cliché, but it works wonders. Sometimes, we are so focused in what we think is the correct way of doing something or the correct idea, that we forget to see their point or situation.
  • Lastly, know the people you work with and are leading. This is very important to make sure that you minimize conflict and maximize productivity. If you know that the person you’re working with likes facts, and definite answers, make sure you adapt yourself to that to communicate via that style. If you are working with someone that works emotionally, make sure you add the emotion to your work and help them show their colors. As a leader, we should always try to make sure that everyone’s strengths are showcased and weaknesses are challenged positively.

The quote above by John Maxwell summarizes my view on leadership. I believe that leadership should be used to empower, and not to showcase power. The TECHniques Center is filled with a lot of leaders and I am thankful for all that they have taught me. The counselors, fellow master tutors, and tutors are my role models of leadership, and help me see the importance of leadership and empowerment.

Leave a Reply

