Staff Spotlight · Thoughts from Counselors

Staff Spotlight Series: Christian Enevoldsen, Academic Counselor

“You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And you are the one who’ll decide where to go.” – Dr. Seuss

Hello! My name is Christian Enevoldsen and I am a new Senior Academic Counselor on the team at the TECHniques Center. I am glad to be back at my alma mater and look forward to working with my fellow Red Raiders.

Before I came to the TECHniques Center, I worked as a Program Director with a substance abuse treatment program that helped collegiate aged students seek treatment and get back into the swing of life. I have a passion for helping people find their path in life. College can be a great time to enjoy a lot of growth and learning, both about content and your self. Working in that field helped me to find my passion for counseling and gave me the opportunity to work with people from all over the country.

I am originally from Amarillo, Texas. After attending Amarillo College and West Texas A&M, I decided to move to Lubbock and transferred to Texas Tech in the Fall of 2012. I received my bachelors in Multidisciplinary Studies with a specialization in English as a Second Language (or ESL). I am currently working towards my Masters of Arts in Counseling at Wayland Baptist University and plan to graduate in February of 2017.

When I am not working or attending graduate classes, I like to be active outdoors. Fall is a great time for Texas Tech Football or going out to go ride mountain bikesA man hiking and holding his dog, a husky., go camping, or even just go out to hike some trails. I have a great outdoor companion in my 2-year-old Siberian Husky named Kimber. She always keeps me moving and on my toes!

This semester has gotten off to a great start already. I am
so glad I get to be a part of my students’ journeys while they are here at Texas Tech and love meeting new people every day. If we haven’t met yet, stop by my office and let’s talk!

Leave a Reply

