Thoughts from Tutors · Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight: Alicia Rosas

By Alicia Rosas – Master Tutor

Hello everyone!

My name is Alicia Rosas, and I’m a Master Tutor at the TECHniques Center! I’ve been working at the TC since Fall 2015, and this is my first semester as a Master Tutor!

I’m currently putting the finishing touches on my Bachelor’s Degree in Community, Family, and Addiction Sciences with a minor in Youth Development. (In case you were wondering, this degree is offered in the College of Human Sciences!) I graduate in December, which is literally right around the corner! Everyone keeps asking me what I want to be when I grow up, and I still usually respond with, “a super hero!” But in all reality, I hope to one day run a nonprofit organization that works to provide opportunity and resources to youth in the community. Running your own organization doesn’t just fall into your lap post-graduation, so for now, I just want to work in service or the nonprofit sector in general. Academically, I love program planning, writing research proposals, and any and all service learning opportunities.

A woman drinking a cup of coffee with wide eyes

Outside of school, I thoroughly enjoy binging on Netflix, crocheting, reading, running, and cooking and eating food. I also volunteer – I currently serve with an organization called Extreme Youth Leadership, and every summer we host camps for youth that encourage and empower them to make change in their communities! I also love to spend time with my family, especially my brother and sister. They’re why I do what I do every day.

I’m extremely excited to spend my last semester at Texas Tech as a Master Tutor at the TC, but I’m also very saddened that I don’t have more time to spend working at this lovely place with lovely people. I’ve never had a job like this before, and I probably never will, and it’s been such an incredible, life-changing opportunity to enhance my life through the amazing people I work with and for!

Leave a Reply

