Thoughts from Tutors · Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight – David Johnson

By David Johnson – Master Tutor

Hi there!

My name is David Johnson and this is my first semester as a Master Tutor at the TECHniques Center. I started with the TC in the fall of 2014 and have been here ever since. Working at the TC has been an experience that I am overwhelmingly grateful for. I have met wonderful, encouraging people who have challenged me to grow as an individual and worked with incredible students. Each day brings something new and I love learning new things about the job each semester.

Currently, I am in my fifth year at Texas Tech. I will graduate in May of 2017 with both a Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Accounting and a Master’s of Science in Accounting with an emphasis in Taxation. Upon graduation, I will begin a career as a tax associate at the “Big 4” accounting firm, PricewaterhouseCoopers L.L.P. (PwC). I interned with PwC for 10 weeks during the spring of 2016 and absolutely loved it. I am very excited and relieved to have a job lined up prior to graduation at a place I truly enjoyed working!

A young man smiles in front of the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France

Outside of my classwork, I am a member in the Accounting Leadership Council, participating both in organization events and as a mentor for undergraduate accounting students who are making their way into the Masters of Accounting program and graduate accounting students who will be going on an internship in the coming semesters. I am also a member at my local church, Redeemer Church, leading a community group in the college ministry. Between studying for my accounting courses, working, and extracurricular activities, the free time I do have I enjoy reading, hiking, spending time with friends, and watching Tech football.

Although I am ecstatic to be graduating in May and start working full-time in the business world, I am saddened to leave the TECHniques Center. The last three years at the TC have been filled with adventure, growth, and joy. I will miss working with the fantastic students, hardworking tutors, and wonderful counselors!

 

 

Leave a Reply

