Thoughts from Tutors · Tutor Spotlight

Master Tutor Spotlight – Elizabeth Hansen

By Elizabeth Hansen, Master Tutor

Hello, everyone! This is your resident English-loving Master Tutor typing at you today. I’m currently a junior at Tech, majoring in Creative Writing with a minor in Advertising. This is my third semester at the TECHniques Center, and my first one as a Master Tutor!

Growing up, I had always been interested in writing creatively. When I was younger, I was constantly writing stories and poems in my free time. I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do when I grew up (at one point I was convinced I could become a famous singer by having a character in one of my stories also sing original songs I wrote), but I knew I wanted to be expressive, thoughtful, and creative in whatever path I chose.

Today, I’m still not sure what I will do once I graduate. I’m looking into different avenues and ventures (grad school, etc.), but I’m still enjoying the experience of learning who I am and what I enjoy doing with my time through my academic, social, and work experiences in college.

A woman smiling with a West Texas Sunset behind her

That being said, deciding to work at the TECHniques Center was one of the best decisions of my life. If I hadn’t applied to this job my freshmen year, I don’t know where I would be today. This job is one of the most fulfilling and gratifying experiences you could ever have. I’ve grown so much during my short time here, and I’ve matured into a better person. Looking at myself freshmen year vs today, so much has changed, and I attribute most of that to this job. Not only am I able to support and help my students grow, but I am able to grow and develop myself.

Outside of the TC, I also serve as the Editor-In-Chief of Harbinger, Texas Tech’s literary journal. It’s a great opportunity for undergraduate students to get published, and it’s so much fun to work on. I am able to interact with innovative and insightful individuals on this project, which inspires me to be more inventive and unique in my own creative activities.

I may be busy, but it’s a happy busy. I wouldn’t want it any other way!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

