Thoughts from Tutors · Tutor Success Story

What a Communication Studies Major Can Do for You

Photo of Cally Reeves, a first semester tutor at the TECHniques Center and will graduate this December with a major in Communication Studies.
Cally Reeves is a first semester tutor at the TECHniques Center and will graduate this December with a major in Communication Studies.

by Cally Reeves, TECHniques Center Tutor

“To effectively communicate, we must realize that we are all different in the way we perceive the world and use this understanding as a guide to our communication with others.” Tony Robbins

My name is Cally Reeves, and I have been a tutor at the TECHniques Center for a little over two months now. I was born and raised in Lubbock, and I love Texas Tech. I transferred to Tech the spring semester of my sophomore year from a small private university in Dallas where I majored in Graphic Design. I didn’t intend to major in Communication Studies, but when I stumbled upon the course Interpersonal Communication, which covers conflict resolution, stages of relationships, etc., I knew I had found my niche. So many things made sense to me and were applicable to my life, like the idea of conflict resolution. It was everything I never knew I was looking for. And as I found out through the semesters, I can literally do anything with communication studies. That’s why I am so excited to share information about the major I love and the multiple doors this major can open for you!

A Communication Studies (COMS) major prepares students for multiple jobs, careers, and areas of life. There are three areas of concentration offered at Texas Tech University: interpersonal communication, organizational communication, and public communication. I am concentrating in interpersonal communication, but the major is structured in such a manner that students get to take a couple of classes in the other concentrations.

With a concentration in interpersonal communication, a student would take classes like Communication in Relationships (one of my personal favorites), Intercultural Communication, and Nonverbal Communication, to name a few. The organizational communication concentration includes classes like Communication in Small Groups, Leadership and Communication, and Communication in Instruction and Training. The public communication track includes classes such as Rhetoric in Western Thought (another of my favorites), Persuasion, and Persuasion in Social Movements.

We all communicate and see the world differently. Communication Studies has taught me to embrace the way I communicate with others and to be patient and empathetic with people as they communicate their ideas and thoughts. I have also learned how to assert my thoughts and ideas when necessary. These are all things that have helped me in this job. I tutor five students, and they all communicate differently.  Learning to adapt and program my listening process to understand what each student is trying to say (both verbally and nonverbally) is absolutely invaluable to me in this job.

Communication Studies majors can do pretty much anything because most job skills are teachable by the employer, but communication skills are a rare and more valuable commodity. Most Communication Studies majors get jobs in media-related fields like advertising and journalism. Sales is a common field, as well. It is important for Communication Studies majors to explore the things they love and would want to turn into a career before choosing a specific job title. For me, writing, graphic design, and communication research are all things I want to be able to do in my post-grad life. With Communication Studies, I am confident that I can accomplish all of my dreams.

I encourage you, whether you are the least bit interested in COMS or not, to reach for the stars and never stop until you accomplish your dreams. Check out the links below to explore the endless possibilities Communications Studies can offer.

RESOURCES

Department of Communication Studies:

http://www.depts.ttu.edu/comc/programs/commstudies/

TTU Career Center Communication Studies Job Possibilities

http://www.depts.ttu.edu/careercenter/Pages/students/majors/html/commstudies.php

Leave a Reply

