Texas Tech · Thoughts from Tutors

Importance of Attitude

By Landon Breeding – Master Tutor

“The longer I live, the more I am convinced that life is 10% of what happens to me and 90% how I react to it” – Charles R. Swindoll

If you had told me five years ago I would be writing this blog post, I wouldn’t have believed you. How my life has unfolded over the last four or five years has been quite a bit different than I imagined it to be. My father and I were talking about this one evening, and after talking awhile he shrugged and said, “life happens”.

I think this is absolutely true that “life happens.” Whether we want to admit it or not, many, many important elements for our lives are completely out of our control. This can be a scary thought that we are victims to life’s event’s happening to us. Although we don’t have control over the things that happen externally to us, we do have control of one thing: our attitude about the situation.

A role model of mine once said he doesn’t have problems, he only has opportunities. His attitude on his situations makes something that is a bad problem into something that is great opportunity for growth and to better himself. I believe the ability to buy into this mindset can radically change how you perceive the world and go about your day-to-day actions.

We’ve all had things happen during our time at Texas Tech that could be considered problems by many people. Maybe we fail an exam, maybe we forget about an important assignment, maybe we get stuck in a group project with members we don’t like, or maybe we have a professor we really have a hard time learning from. Instead of getting upset about a bad exam, view it as an opportunity to evaluate and better your study habits. Instead of getting down on yourself about forgetting an assignment, use it as an opportunity to become more organized going forward. Instead of dreading working with your group everyday, see it as an opportunity to learn how to work with people who have different backgrounds and ideas than you. Instead of dropping your class, use it as an opportunity to learn how to engage additional sources, not just listening in a lecture hall. Imagine how much easier it would be to wake up and start the day knowing the adversity you would face is actually an opportunity to make you better everyday.

“A role model of mine once said he doesn’t have problems, he only has opportunities.”

Two mountain climbers sit atop a mountain
Skills and equipment only get you so far. Attitude is what helps you summit your mountain.

As a tutor at the TECHniques Center I believe that I am more than a resource to help students with their classes. I hope that during our semester together I am able to help them overcome the adversity they face, whether that is academically or personally. I hope that I am able to help my students develop attitudes of positivity and optimism. We cannot change what is happening externally to us, but we can always change our attitude.

 

Leave a Reply

