Thoughts from Tutors · Tutor Spotlight · Tutor Success Story

How Tutoring Has Impacted My Life

Working at the TECHniques Center is a once in a lifetime experience

By Elizabeth Hansen, Master Tutor

Life is a constant stream of making decisions. Each day, we’re faced with thousands of choices– big or small– that have a large impact on our future. A decision we make today may seem insignificant, but later prove to have massive consequence.

I’m a huge believer in the “What is meant to be, will be” mentality. It is discouraging when something doesn’t go the way you had originally hoped; however, sometimes, you can look back on your life and see how this one thing not happening has positively impacted your entire future.

When I first started going to Tech, I was aware of the TECHniques Center because of my brother. He was two years older than me, and he said a lot of his friends worked there and loved their jobs. I applied, but at the time, I did not have the sufficient hours required to be employed.

In need of a job, I started applying everywhere I could. I found something I thought would be perfect for me. It was a job on campus, creating social media campaigns and working with others on writing articles, making videos, and coordinating events. I applied, went in for an interview, and felt extremely confident I was going to get the job.

But, I didn’t.

I was discouraged and upset. I had been looking for other places to work, but nothing was working out. I took a job somewhere out of desperation and resigned before training had even finished because I knew it wasn’t the right fit for me.

There I was, desperate for employment after one failed interview and job. I had applied to countless other places, but for a month, I didn’t hear anything.

Then, I got a call. I had gotten a summer job.

This job was my first job. I had never worked in an office before, so I was able to learn how to handle myself in this new situation. While working there, I got a call from the TECHniques Center that they wanted to interview me. Since I was working only for the summer, I was able to interview for a fall position at TECHniques. Also, fortunately for me, my boss knew many of the people at TECHniques and said she would love to be my reference.A river crashing against rocks with a quote overlaid that reads "Thank life for happening, thank every twist and turn. There is a reason for every single thing. There is a reason for every worry and concern" by Dante Jannicelli

Somehow, I had gone from desperate to being employed at the TECHniques Center, which was amazing all by itself. What I didn’t anticipate when I agreed to work here was the massive impact it would have on my personal life.

When I started working for TECHniques, I was shy and reserved. I would come for tutoring, stay the hour I had scheduled with my student, and leave. I didn’t participate in anything outside of the minor requirements. Even though I was not engaged around the TC and I literally didn’t speak to anyone besides my assigned students and counselors, I knew this was the place I needed to be. I felt comfortable here, something I’d struggled with in the past.

During my second semester here, I began to open up even more. My counselors were encouraging of me, giving me advice and praise where applicable. My students enjoyed our sessions together, and this made me feel better about how I interacted with others on a daily basis.

At the end of my second semester, I saw a blog post on Facebook from the TECHniques Center entitled “Master Tutor: To Be, or Not to Be” by Victoria Andrews. I read it, and decided, “Hey, maybe I could do that.”

This is something I would have never considered before working at TECHniques.

Now, as a Master Tutor, I have grown exponentially in my social and professional skills. I interact with so many people- tutors, students, and counselors- on a daily basis, and I love every minute of it. I have gone from never walking into the break room my first semester for fear of small talk to coming to the TECHniques Center anytime I have a break on campus. The TECHniques Center has become not only my place of work, but my place of solitude, encouragement, social interaction, and home on campus.

With all this being said, the TECHniques Center is an amazing place to learn how to become a better you. Not only are you doing encouraging work helping others realize their potential, but you’re recognizing this potential in yourself. The reward of working for the TECHniques Center is based on what you put into it, so as somehow who did not take advantage of all the amazing opportunities here my first semester, I encourage you to go above and beyond and put forth the effort.

I for one can attest applying to the TECHniques Center was the best decision I made during my college career, and if not for unexpected failures and obstacles, I may have never ended up working as a tutor. I am forever thankful I did because I can’t imagine anywhere else being better than working here.

If you are interested in applying to the TECHniques Center to be a tutor, please visit: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/techniques/tutors/ProspectiveTutorsOverview.php

Leave a Reply

